Subversion System Usage & Installation

Subversion is a version control system used to maintain current and historical versions of files. It is used by Team 254 to track revisions of all files. Every change uploaded to the server is kept forever and can be reverted to at any time.

READ-ONLY CREDENTIALS

The team has a read-only account for users to use to retrieve files from the server. For more information, contact the FRC Build Lead. It will not permit you to check-in anything to the server. Team members will be given write access on a need-to-have basis.

Installation and Configuration of Subversion Client

It is reccomended to use a Subversion client, such as Tortoise SVN to access the repository.

  1. Go to the download page for Tortoise SVN. Download and install the software.
  2. At the prompt, restart your computer. The installer makes changes to Windows Explorer, so a restart is neccesary to use the software.
  3. Create a Folder in the Location that you would like to store the CAD files.
  4. Right Click on the folder and select “SVN Checkout” from the drop-down menu.
  5. Enter the SVN server URL into URL box and click “OK”
  6. If Security Certificate Error Appears, click “Accept Permanently”
  7. Enter your username and password into the dialog box.
  8. Wait for All Files to Download. When “Completed” Message is displayed, download is done. Click “OK” to exit.

Downloading New Revisions from the Server

To Download the newest revision from the server, right click on the folder that you would like to update and select “SVN Update”. New and updated files will be downloaded from the server.

Adding and Committing Changes to the Server

You can only commit changes to the server if you have a write account. Write accounts will be granted on a need-to-have basis.

Never Commit anything to the Server without permission from your CAD Team Captain. Failure to conform to this policy can result in file edit conflicts and/or revocation of your ‘write’ permissions.

Before committing, it is a good idea to check with other team members to ensure that you are the only one editing the file. If multiple people edit the file and then commit it, conflicts can arise.

If you have accidentally changed a file, instead of commiting it, revert it to the previous revision by right clicking on the file and selecting “revert” from the drop-down menu under “TortoiseSVN”

IF YOU HAVE ADDED OR CREATED NEW FILES WITHIN THE DIRECTORY

If you have added or created new files within the folder, they must be added to the subversion.

Never Commit anything to the server unless it has a part number, assigned by the Part Management Server. Files on the server must be named by their respective part numbers.

  1. Right click on the file and click “Add” under “TortoiseSVN” in the drop-down menu.
  2. Select the files to add to the SVN. Click “OK”

UPLOADING CHANGED AND NEW FILES TO THE SERVER:

  1. After new files have been added to the subversion, you must commit the changes to the server. Commit only the files that you have been assigned to work on. Right click on the files that you would like to commit changes from and select “SVN Commit…”
  2. Enter a message into the box (1) about exactly what you edited. This is a mandatory step. Click “OK”
  3. Once the operation has completed, click “OK”.